City Wards

Albany is divided into (15) legislative districts, or Wards. Each Ward is represented by a City resident who is elected by their constituency to serve a four year term.  Collectively the elected Ward representatives comprise the Common Council, which serves as the legislative branch of Albany’s government.

Redistricting refers to the process by which U.S. Census data is used to redraw the boundaries of electoral districts, or in the case of the City of Albany--Ward boundaries. Redistricting impacts the weight of your vote and involves making difficult decisions constricted by complicated local, State and Federal laws. In Albany, this process is conducted every ten years and is based on demographic information from the latest U.S. Decennial Census survey.  Redistricting represents one of the most important undertakings of our democracy.

Current Ward Boundaries
The Common Council adopted the current Ward boundaries on February 21, 2013, as proposed by the latest appointed Reapportionment Commission.  These boundaries have been adjusted to best represent protected groups and community of interests per the 2010 U.S. Decennial Census.

Maps (.pdf)
Ward 1    Ward 4    Ward 7    Ward 10    Ward 13
Ward 2    Ward 5    Ward 8    Ward 11    Ward 14
Ward 3    Ward 6    Ward 9    Ward 12    Ward 15


Albany's Interactive Ward Map

2013 Adopted Ward Boundaries (.pdf)
NYS Assembly Districts (.pdf)
NYS Senate Districts (.pdf)

2010 City of Albany Census Data
Total Populations for City Wards with Non-Hispanic Racial Breakdown
Total Voter Populations for City Wards with Non-Hispanic Racial Breakdown
2000 & 2010 Census Comparison of Non-Hispanic Races

Contact Information

Common Council Directory
Gerald Campbell, City Clerk

City Hall
24 Eagle Street
Council Chambers
Albany, NY 12207
Phone:  (518) 434-5081